F25 and PHRF

Jack Woods

F25 and PHRF

Post by Jack Woods »

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone has experiences they'd like to share about racing PHRF.
I'm not very good at racing but I'm going out this year anyway.
My last boat was a Tartan 41 (S&S) and though it could out point most the short
WL courses were not very enjoyable....

Thanks,

Jack
1983 F25 round mast #184 Badaka
Yanmar diesel

Teke's Pride

Re: F25 and PHRF

Post by Teke's Pride »

F25s and F21s are fun boats to race. Unlike your Tartan, most every other boat on the course will be able to out point you. Theses boats were basically cat rigged boats with a jib/staysail as an after thought. The jib/staysail does improve pointing but the main is so far forward the true sloops will out perform you to windward every time. Where you will come into your own is on the down wind legs. If you can keep up with the pack you should be able to catch them on the runs with your spinnaker up.

You will be at a disadvantage on a windward-leeward course but you will race even or have a slight advantage on a triangle course as our downwind speed is so much better than most other boats. You will have one slight advantage on a straight windward-leeward course -- Sloops with a asymmetric spinnaker will jibe down the course in order to make full use of their sail area. Since our spinnakers are partially masked by the mainsail on most points of sail we can sail closer to straight downwind without noticeable loss of sail area or speed.

I don't usually bother racing if the forecast is for winds under 10 mph (8 knots). The sweet spot for us is 12-20 mph (10-15 knots). Above 20 mph you should consider a reef. By the way, I don't know about the F25 but I'll never single hand a F21 in a race again if the winds are above 18 mph with the jib up.

Enjoy!
Last edited by Teke's Pride on Sun May 06, 2012 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clark Myers
Teke's Pride
F21 #345

Black Finn
F40 AC CK #41

Browns Creek Sailing Association