Freedom 30 1988 holding tank oder

Fresh/Waste Water Systems, Watermakers, HVAC, Refrigeration...
Echo Star

Freedom 30 1988 holding tank oder

Post by Echo Star »

Last summer I purchased an excellent condition Freedom 30. I sailed all summer and used the holding tank. Being a beginner I did know how full the tank was until I saw the contents spitting out the hull vent on the port side after one of my children was pumping it. I immediately took it to a pump out station and got to work. However, every time I get on the boat there is a strong oder and I do not know where to begin to eliminate it. Could I have damaged the hoses by the continuous pumping of a full tank? I see no apparent sign of seepage anywhere. I cannot go through another sailing season with this smell. It is embarrassing! any suggestions? By the way this this an outstanding boat and so easy to sail. Thanks. Frederick

Castaway

Re: Freedom 30 1988 holding tank oder

Post by Castaway »

Was there a filter in the vent pipe? Often an activated carbon filter is used to control odours vented through the pipe, and it will tend to disintegrate if wetted. You might then be left with a slurry of carbon and poo collected in the filter holder, which will continue to smell until it is washed out and the filter replaced. There speaks the voice of bitter experience! If there is no filter, then perhaps fitting one will solve you problem. Check also that nothing has leaked inboard from the (usually dry) vent pipe junctions.

Good luck!
Gerald Freshwater,
s/y 'Castaway', (UK F35 cat ketch, centreboard, 1987)
Lerwick Boating Club
Shetland Isles, Scotland

Michel

Post by Michel »

Over here they say that you have to replace all the hoses - even if it's sanitation hose - every so many (10?) years. My 1981 US built boat has exhaust hose on the black water tank, so I have some smell too.