freedom 45 windlass

Engines, Drive trains, Propellers, Steering, Ground Tackle and other mechanical system

freedom 45 windlass

Postby lewharve » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:49 am

what windlass do you own
My boat didn't have one when we got the boat
so what should I buy
lewharve
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby Hans » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:18 am

I have a Simpson Lawrence windlass. Next visit to the boat I'll see which one and take a picture.
Hans Hansen, Harlingen,The Netherlands.
Freedom 45AC #47 "Scherezade".
User avatar
Hans
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:28 am
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby lewharve » Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:18 pm

I put in a Laffan's cayman it should do the job but it is blowing the breaker
lewharve
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby lewharve » Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:20 pm

blowing the breaker on the windlass any ideas how to find the short
lewharve
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby Castaway » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:12 pm

Does it only blow when you run the windlass, or when you connect the breaker? If the former, it may be a short in the windlass, or, more likely, it is drawing too much current for the size of breaker. If it happens as soon as you reset the breaker, without the windlass being turned on, you have to disconnect things working from the windlass back to the breaker, in turn. When it doesn't happen, you know you have isolated the short, then you might just test with a multimeter until you find where it is. Or, send for a marine electrician and help pay off his mortgage! If you can't easily find the fault, that's the safe option, and cheap in the long term if it fireproofs the boat.
Gerald Freshwater,
s/y 'Castaway', (UK F35 cat ketch)
Lerwick Boating Club
Shetland Isles, Scotland
User avatar
Castaway
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:40 pm
Location: Lerwick, Shetland Isles

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby lewharve » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:24 pm

I have a 25 amp breaker on the windlass, Lafrans says I need a 100am breaker, which I guess the windlass needs a 100amps
I have 25 feet of double 0 wire
Do you think this set up will work with a 100 amps
lewharve
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Postby GeoffSchultz » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:14 am

You'll be fine with 00 wire, but you definitely need a 100A breaker.

-- Geoff
BlueJacket
1997 Freedom 40/40
http://www.GeoffSchultz.org
User avatar
GeoffSchultz
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:39 am
Location: BlueJacket: Guatemala


Return to Engines and Mechanical Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest