F 25 Question

Boat handling, ideas, questions...
Charlie

F 25 Question

Post by Charlie »

Greetings, I am new to the site and these boats, but not a complete novice to stuff breaking, cold nights and lee shores. I am considering a F 25 (round mast with inboard yanmar) for a single handed lap of Cuba and the western Caribbean. If successful, perhaps further. That said, here is my dumb question: "Is this boat strong enough for venturing further afield, say taking it to Europe?" Am I kidding my self? Please feel free to lay waste to this notion. Thanks. C

GeoffSchultz

Re: F 25 Question

Post by GeoffSchultz »

First off, if you're a US citizen then you're not going to Cuba. NW Caribbean - yes, Cuba - no.

A 25 footer is a small boat for what you want to do, but many have done it. Forget Europe.

-- Geoff
BlueJacket
1997 Freedom 40/40
http://www.GeoffSchultz.org

THATBOATGUY

Post by THATBOATGUY »

This type of question comes up time and again on various forums I frequent. The conversation goes back and forth and back again, sometimes quite heated. What it almost always boils down to is that it's more about the sailor than the boat, so if you have to ask the question, the answer is no. Sorry if that sounds blunt.

On a lighter note, welcome to the forum! There is an incredible wealth of general sailing information as well as specific information concerning the boat you are interested in. I'd also suggest that the line of Freedom boats are generally easier to single hand than other sailboats. Also there are some really great deals on boats in this economy so you might want to actually set your sights on a bigger boat?

George
George and Kerri Huffman S/V Marquesa Freedom 40 CC CK Sail MarquesaImage

GeoffSchultz

Post by GeoffSchultz »