freedom 45 windlass

Engines, Drive trains, Propellers, Steering, Ground Tackle and other mechanical system
Post Reply
lewharve
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

freedom 45 windlass

Post by lewharve »

what windlass do you own
My boat didn't have one when we got the boat
so what should I buy

User avatar
Hans
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:28 am
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by Hans »

I have a Simpson Lawrence windlass. Next visit to the boat I'll see which one and take a picture.
Hans Hansen, Harlingen,The Netherlands.
Freedom 45AC #47 "Scherezade".

lewharve
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by lewharve »

I put in a Laffan's cayman it should do the job but it is blowing the breaker

lewharve
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by lewharve »

blowing the breaker on the windlass any ideas how to find the short

User avatar
Castaway
Posts: 219
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 8:40 pm
Location: Lerwick, Shetland Isles

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by Castaway »

Does it only blow when you run the windlass, or when you connect the breaker? If the former, it may be a short in the windlass, or, more likely, it is drawing too much current for the size of breaker. If it happens as soon as you reset the breaker, without the windlass being turned on, you have to disconnect things working from the windlass back to the breaker, in turn. When it doesn't happen, you know you have isolated the short, then you might just test with a multimeter until you find where it is. Or, send for a marine electrician and help pay off his mortgage! If you can't easily find the fault, that's the safe option, and cheap in the long term if it fireproofs the boat.
Gerald Freshwater,
s/y 'Castaway', (UK F35 cat ketch, centreboard, 1987)
Lerwick Boating Club
Shetland Isles, Scotland

lewharve
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by lewharve »

I have a 25 amp breaker on the windlass, Lafrans says I need a 100am breaker, which I guess the windlass needs a 100amps
I have 25 feet of double 0 wire
Do you think this set up will work with a 100 amps

User avatar
GeoffSchultz
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:39 am
Location: BlueJacket: Guatemala
Contact:

Re: freedom 45 windlass

Post by GeoffSchultz »

You'll be fine with 00 wire, but you definitely need a 100A breaker.

-- Geoff
BlueJacket
1997 Freedom 40/40
http://www.GeoffSchultz.org

Post Reply