Cutlass Bearing

Engines, Drive trains, Propellers, Steering, Ground Tackle and other mechanical system
F32Circle

Cutlass Bearing

Post by F32Circle »

Pardon if I’m submitting this twice. No experience posting a photo.

I have no knowledge or experience with cutlass bearings, but there is something just at the forward end of the strut on my F32, that hasn’t been visible in the previous 7 years I’ve owned the boat. Looks like a thick black plastic tape or seal that was around the shaft inside the strut, and that is now working its way out, and cracking. What is this? Does it need to be replaced? Can it be just left as is, and allowed to probably fall out completely? I don’t detect any play or looseness as the shaft passes through the strut.

Thanks for any help.

F32 Hull #67, Saybook CT.
Yanmar 3GMF, Loose-footed Main, MaxProp, Ronca, Muir windlass,
Heart Interface inverter/charger, SeaFrost

Tmack

Re: Cutlass Bearing

Post by Tmack »

Hi - your photo did not come through. I'd be interested in seeing this, please try again. You probably need to resize it smaller.

F32Circle

Post by F32Circle »

Thanks Tom. Yes the photo resolution is too fine and I cannot manage to post it.
If you PM me or give me an email I’ll forward it to you.
Dale
Dmr118@att.net

GeoffSchultz

Post by GeoffSchultz »

You don't need to replace the cutlass bearing as long as you're willing to have it fail (at probably the most inconvenient time possible). Based upon your description, it's clearly in the process of failing and it's just a matter of time before it does. When it does fail, your prop shaft won't be supported by anything and will bang around inside the strut, probably causing a lot of damage. This is a classic case of pay-me-now or pay-me-a-lot-more-later.

-- Geoff
BlueJacket
1997 Freedom 40/40
http://www.GeoffSchultz.org

F32Circle

Post by F32Circle »